UEFA confirms UEFA Euro 2028 in the UK and Ireland and identifies host stadiums; know more

UEFA confirms UEFA Euro 2028 in the UK and Ireland and identifies host stadiums;  know more

On Tuesday, UEFA’s Executive Committee chose the United Kingdom and Ireland to host the 2028 European Cup. Moreover, the organization’s president, Aleksander Ceferin, confirmed that Italy and Turkey will host the next edition of the tournament in 2032.

“I would like to congratulate the candidates and host associations, whose dedication, hard work and commitment were recognized today. Together we will create unforgettable versions of this great tournament that will unite us and celebrate the spirit of sportsmanship,” Ceferin said. President of the European Football Association at a ceremony held in the Swiss city of Nyon.

The stadiums and venues nominated by the United Kingdom and Ireland in the joint bid to host Euro 2028 are Wembley Stadium (London), Wales National Stadium (Cardiff), Tottenham Hotspur Stadium (London), City of Manchester Stadium (Manchester, targeted renovation), Everton. The Stadium (Liverpool, new stadium), St James’ Park (Newcastle), Villa Park (Birmingham, renovation target), Hampden Park (Glasgow), Dublin Arena (Dublin) and Casement Park (Belfast, new stadium).

The 18th edition of the tournament will witness the return of the Euro to England for the third time, after it was the sole host in 1996 and co-host in the 2020 edition, while Scotland will host the event for the second time, having also co-hosted the tournament. hosts.host in 2020, with Glasgow. Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland will host matches in the final stages of the competition for the first time.

The next edition, the 19th, will be held in Italy, marking the fourth time the country has hosted the competition, after 1968 and 1980, as a single event, and 2020, as co-host, with matches being held in Rome. This will be the first time Tรผrkiye hosts the competition.

The stadiums indicated by the Italian Football Federation are: Stadio San Siro – Giuseppe Meazza (Milan), Stadio Olimpico (Roma), Stadio San Nicola (Bari, target for renewal), Stadio Diego Armando Maradona (Napoli, target for renewal), Stadio Artemio. Franchi (Florence, new stadium), Juventus Stadium (Torino), Stadio Luigi Ferraris (Genoa, target for renovation), Stadio Marcantonio Bentegodi (Verona, target for renovation), Stadio Renato Dall’ara (Bologna, new stadium) and Stadio Sant. Elia (Cagliari, new stadium).

The stadiums nominated by Turkey are Ataturk Olympic Stadium (Istanbul, target for renovation), New Ankara Stadium (Ankara, new stadium), Ali Sami Yen Stadium (Istanbul), Sukru Saracoglu Stadium (Istanbul), Crocodile Arena (Bursa), Senol Stadium Complex. Gunes Sports (Trabzon), Konya Metropolitan Stadium (Konya), Gaziantep Kalyon Stadium (Gaziantep), Eskisehir Stadium (Eskisehir), Antalya Stadium (Antalya).

The joint application from Italy and Turkey presents 20 stadiums, of which ten will be selected, five for each country, until October 2026.

See also  A student from Carrere is awarded in the UK Olympics

You May Also Like

About the Author: Lizzie Gray

"Lifelong web fan. Incurable internet junkie. Avid bacon guru. Social media geek. Reader. Freelance food scholar."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *