The United States decides to lift travel restrictions on African countries after the blockade of the Omicron variable | Globalism

Government United State Travel restrictions applied to eight African countries will be lifted last month due to fears of the omicron variant of the coronavirus.

as Restrictions will be lifted on December 31., 12:01 p.m. Eastern time United StateAccording to information from CNN.

President Joe Biden ordered restrictions in late Novemberfollowing the advice of your public health officials. At that time, most flights from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Swatini, Mozambique and Malawi were banned.

A senior US government official said the US Centers for Disease Control United State It recommended lifting the restrictions for two main reasons: advances in understanding omicron and the fact that an alternative already exists in the country and around the world, according to CNN.

The measures banned entry into the United States for nearly all aliens who were “physically present” in African countries within the “14-day period prior to their entry or attempt to enter.” United StateUS citizens, lawful permanent residents, and non-citizens who are spouses of citizens or permanent residents are exempt.

Biden and his team stressed at the time that the move was a temporary effort to slow the spread of the oomicron and give US authorities time to assess the coronavirus variant.

The move still faced criticism after it became clear that Omicron was already spreading to several non-African countries before it was identified in South Africa, which has a robust public health surveillance system.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Lucas Moreno

"Proud explorer. Freelance social media expert. Problem solver. Gamer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *