Sources say the government is signaling the reappointment of union representatives to the Petrobras board

Sources say the government is signaling the reappointment of union representatives to the Petrobras board

RIO DE JANEIRO (Reuters) – The Ministry of Mines and Energy has sent Petrobras (PETR4) a letter indicating the reappointment of the six members representing the union to the company's board of directors, two sources close to the discussions told Reuters on Friday.

The letter was sent despite recent news indicating that the current management of the oil company is interested in nominating other names for the government.

The Board of Directors will be elected on April 25, during the Ordinary General Assembly of Shareholders.

Free training

Dividend distribution guide

Discover the step-by-step guide to living on dividends and earning a predictable monthly income, starting in the next few weeks

When contacted, Petrobras did not immediately comment on the matter.

Responsibility for appointing members to the Petrobras board falls to the Ministry of Mines and Energy, currently led by Alexandre Silveira (PSD), who has publicly criticized the leadership of Petrobras, headed by Jean-Paul Prats, a former Labor senator, over the past year. .

One source told Reuters that Prats asked the Minister of the Civic House, Rui Costa, to point out one of the seats, at the beginning of January, but the idea was quickly ignored.

Continues after ad

Columnist Malu Gaspard, from O Globo, reported this week that Prats was formulating an “attack aimed at expanding PT control over the state-owned company’s board and removing advisers linked to the Minister of Mines and Energy.”

The source said that the six names nominated for reappointment must be evaluated again by the Petrobras Eligibility Committee (CELIG), where they will undergo integrity and governance tests, taking into account that they are already members of the collective body, and there should be no obstacles to them. to remain in their positions.

The names that will be reappointed as representatives of the federation are Pietro Mendes, member and president of the Council, in addition to advisors Jean-Paul Prats, Vitor Sabac, Renato Galupo, Bruno Moretti, and Sergio Machado Rezende.

The specialized EPBR agency had published the news of the reappointment earlier.

Petrobras' Board of Directors currently consists of 11 members. In addition to the six appointed by the government, four members currently represent minority shareholders and one is elected by employees.

See also  Income Tax 2022: The second installment of the refund will be issued on Thursday; See if you are in the group | Income tax

You May Also Like

About the Author: Camelia Kirk

"Friendly zombie guru. Avid pop culture scholar. Freelance travel geek. Wannabe troublemaker. Coffee specialist."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *