Italo Ferreira competes for the Laureus Award as an “Athlete in Action”

Italo Ferreira competes for the Laureus Award as an “Athlete in Action”

The list of nominees for the 23rd edition of the Laureus Prize, an award given to the most outstanding sporting events throughout the year, was announced on Wednesday (2). Big names in global sports are competing in the “Best Athlete of the Year” category, including striker Robert Lewandowski, who won the Best in the World award by FIFA for the second time, in addition to him on the list is tennis player Novak Djokovic. Pilot Max Verstappen and Tom Brandy, American football player.

The person who will represent Brazil at the awards will be surfer Italo Ferreira, who will compete in the “Athlete in Action” category. The mystic who gave Brazil the first Olympic gold medal in the history of surfing ended up establishing himself as one of the great names in the history of Brazilian surfing. .

Italo Ferreira. (Image: clone/Instagram)

In the 2022 edition of the Laureus Awards, six athletes were nominated in each of the seven categories. The award's jury will consist of great sports legends and will be held in April with a virtual ceremony.

There will also be prominent female figures in the sport, such as Alexia Putellas, Barcelona's player and player of the year this season, and Elaine Thompson, who equaled Usain Bolt with gold medals in the 100m and 200m. In addition, gymnast Simone Biles, who withdrew from the Olympics last year, will compete for the Comeback of the Year award.

Categories and nominees:

1-Best male athlete of the year

Robert Lewandowski (Poland) – Football

See also  Tokyo Vaccination Center to provide vaccinations to young people before the Olympics

Novak Djokovic (Serbia) – Tennis

Max Verstappen (Netherlands) – Motorsport

Caleb Dressel (USA) – Swimming

Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya) – Athletics

Tom Brandy (USA) – American football

2- Best Female Athlete of the Year

Alexia Putellas (Spain) – Football

Eileen Thompson-Hira (Jamaica) – Athletics

Katie Ledecky (USA) – Swimming

Ashleigh Barty (Australia) – tennis

Emma McKinnon (Australia) – Swimming

Allyson Felix (USA) – Athletics

3- Team of the Year

Argentina men's national football team

Italy men's national football team – European Championship champion

Mercedes (Germany) – Motorsport

Chinese Olympic diving team

Barcelona women's football

Milwaukee Bucks (USA) – Basketball

4- Athletes in action

Momiji Nishiya (Japan) – skateboard

Italo Ferreira (Brazil) – surfing

Yuto Horigumi (Japan) – skateboard

Bethany Shriver (UK) – BMX

Carosa Moore (USA) – surfing

Alberto Guinness (Spain) – sport climbing

5- The return of the Sunnah

Tom Daley (UK) – Diving

Skye Brown (UK) – skateboard

Simone Biles (USA) – artistic gymnastics

Marc Marquez (Spain) – Motorcycles

Annemieke van Vleuten (Netherlands) – cycling

Mark Cavendish (UK) – cycling

6- Athletes with disabilities

Didi de Groot (Netherlands) – wheelchair tennis

Marcel Haug (Switzerland) – wheelchair athletics

Shingo Kuneda (Japan) – wheelchair tennis)

Getz Plaat (Netherlands) – Cycling / Paratriathlon

Susana Rodriguez (Spain) – Paratriathlon

Sarah Storey (UK) – cycling

7-Sports for good

Ich will da rauf! (Germany) – Sport climbing

Giocca B. Cagna (Italy)

Kick for Life (Lesotho) – Football

Lost Boyz Company (USA) – Baseball and Softball

Monkey Magic (Japan) – sport climbing

Featured image: Italo Ferreira. Reproduction/Instagram

See also  British MP defends Chelsea can sell tickets and criticizes restrictions

You May Also Like

About the Author: Lizzie Gray

"Lifelong web fan. Incurable internet junkie. Avid bacon guru. Social media geek. Reader. Freelance food scholar."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *