How to choose who can see your Instagram Stories

How to choose who can see your Instagram Stories

Instagram (Android | iOS | the web) with the “Close Friends” function, which allows you to create groups with people you trust so that they only see what you post in Stories.

Instagram recently got an update that makes Close Friends even more personalized: It’s ‘People Chosen’, where you can choose which users, one by one, can see the content you post. Next, find out how it works.

How does the featured people feature work on Instagram

Yes, it may seem confusing. After all, if Close Friends already exists, why is there a function along the same lines? It turns out that Selected People is a much more comprehensive way to decide who can view your Instagram Stories. It also helps give you more control when managing and selecting ‘Spectators’.

Want to follow the best tech news of the day? Access and subscribe to our new YouTube channel, Canaltech News. Every day a summary of the most important news from the world of technology for you!

This applies to all stories. This means that you can select, include, or exclude person-to-person in the new role. It’s a little different from Close Friends, which only allows you to share stories with pre-set groups that can’t be changed.

Additionally, it is important to note that the feature has not been released to all users, as it is still in beta. So, if it does not appear yet, be sure to update the Instagram app to the latest version or wait for the functionality to become available to you.

See also  Resident Evil Village works on computers without a dedicated graphics card

How to choose who can see your Instagram Stories

Step 1: Open Instagram and tap the circle with your photo on the home screen to create new Stories. You can also use the “plus” (+) button in the upper right corner.

On the Instagram home screen, go to the option to create new stories (screenshot: Caio Carvalho / Canaltech)

Step 2: Create new Stories and tap on “People selected” at the bottom of the screen. Note that the function uses the same small white star on a green background as the Close Friends feature.

The ‘Specific People’ feature is in the same field as ‘Close Friends’. Press the button to access the new job (Screenshot: Kris Gaiato / Canaltech)

Step 3: Select the people you want to include in the preview list. You can search for other users or follow Instagram’s own suggestions.

It is possible to select multiple people at once, but the idea of ​​the new feature is to manually choose who will see your stories (screenshot: Kris Gaiato/Canaltech)

The fourth step: With the selected people, press the “Share” button.

After selecting all the people you want in your friends list, simply click on the Share button (Screenshot: Kris Gaiato/Canaltech)

ready! Only people who are in the list of selected people will be able to see what you post on your Instagram Stories.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to your Canaltech email to receive daily updates with the latest news from the world of technology.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Osmond Blake

"Web geek. Wannabe thinker. Reader. Freelance travel evangelist. Pop culture aficionado. Certified music scholar."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *