Formula 1: See all the winners of the Brazilian Championship

Torcida invade pista de interlagos para festejar vitória de Senna em 1993

Most recently in 2019, Red Bull’s Max Verstappen finished first by six seconds over Frenchman Pierre Gasly of Toro Rosso.

These two stages took place at Autodromo José Carlos Pace, in Interlagos, but this was not always the case. In 1978 and from 1981 to 1989, the Autodromo Internacional Nelson Piquet, in Jacarepaguá, Rio de Janeiro, welcomed the Brazilian Grand Prix with the dominance of Frenchman Alain Prost.

The drivers who have won the most in Brazil

Alain Prost has always been called the “enemy of Brazil” due to his rivalry with Ayrton Senna, but the title “King of Rio” best suits the pilot. There were six victories in Brazil, an absolute record, five of them in Jacaribagua.

Alain Prost on top of the podium at the 1985 GP in Jacaribagua, with Michel Alburetto (left) and Elio de Angelis – F1

However, there is still controversy: in 1982, Prost (Renault) won due to the disqualification of Nelson Beckett (Brabham) and Keke Rosberg (Williams), following a protest by the leaders of Renault and Ferrari. The challenge indicated an irregularity in the brake cooling system. The race went to trial and the FIM accepted that claim.

In addition to the Frenchman, four other drivers stood out for victories in Brazil: German Michael Schumacher with four, Argentine Carlos Rottmann and German Sebastian Vettel, both with three.

PES celebrates victory in Interlagos – F1

Among the Brazilians, five of them managed to win at home: Philip Massa, Nelson Piquet, Emerson Fittipaldi and Ayrton Senna, all of these had two victories. and Jose Carlos Pace, with a solitary victory in 1975.

The team that won the most in Brazil

McLaren and Ferrari have been great rivals since the 1960s, and here in Brazil they are fighting hard for the position of the team that often occupies the top spot. The English team achieved 12 victories and is the record holder. The drivers who have won a McLaren are Alain Prost (four times), Ayrton Senna (twice), Mika Hakkinen (twice), Emerson Fittipaldi, David Coulthard, Juan Pablo Montoya and Jenson Button.

See also  Cinch to replace Subway as major partner for NFL games in London

PHOTOS: Drivers arrive in Interlagos for the São Paulo GP