Biden is trying to revive the “quartet” alliance with India, Japan and Australia

Biden is trying to revive the "quartet" alliance with India, Japan and Australia

USA President , Joe Biden, continues to move chips in the Indo-Pacific region when receiving on Friday, the 24th, the Prime Ministers of India, Japan and Australia, after the announcement last week of a stunning military alliance between The United States, Australia, and the United Kingdom.

Biden, who wants to contain China’s growing influence, plans to revive the “Quadrilateral Security Dialogue.”

The draft, also called the Quartet, was drafted after the devastating tsunami in 2004 and formalized in 2007, but remained inactive for a long time.

After a virtual summit in March, Biden united it personally and at a high level.

The guests are Scott Morrison (Australia), whom Biden met in person this week, Narendra Modi (India) and Yoshihide Suga (Japan), with whom Biden also had one-on-one conversations on Friday.

Alongside the Indian Prime Minister, in the Oval Office, Biden described today’s agenda: “Today we will talk about what we can do to fight COVID-19, tackle climate challenges and ensure stability in the Indo-Pacific region.”

“Shift to Asia”

When reactivating “Quad”In one way or another, Biden seeks an “Asian transformation” in US foreign policy, a goal that former President Barack Obama (2009-2017) cherished.

But after the announcement of the Aukus, as the deal with the UK and Australia is known – and its contract for nuclear-powered submarines that angered France – Washington wants to present the “Quartet” in view of a consensus.

Senior White House officials told reporters that this was an “informal” and “intimate” summit aimed at “developing better channels of communication.”

See also  US Travel and WTTC celebrate US reopening date

They stressed that there is no “military” goal, stressing that the “Quartet” will be “complementary” to other regional initiatives, in response to a question about its association with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

Some members of this organization, which includes Malaysia, Indonesia, Brunei, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand and the Philippines, fear an escalation of the US offensive in the region with China.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Camelia Kirk

"Friendly zombie guru. Avid pop culture scholar. Freelance travel geek. Wannabe troublemaker. Coffee specialist."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *