The United States postpones retaliatory duties to 6 countries regarding digital taxes

Between commemoration and excitement, the biggest royal funerals in the UK - International

The US government has decided to suspend tariffs on Austria, India, Italy, Spain, Turkey and the United Kingdom for 180 days, in response to taxes on US digital services applied by those countries. The goal is to save time for negotiations on a global digital tax agreement within the framework of the G-20 and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

US Trade Representative Catherine Taye said in a statement released on Wednesday that an investigation by the agency concluded that tariffs should be applied to some goods coming from those countries. However, the commitments will be temporarily deferred while the intentional community discusses the matter.

“Today’s actions provide time for these negotiations to continue to progress, while reserving the option to impose tariffs under Section 301 if necessary in the future,” he said, referring to the legislation on which the government would impose such retaliatory measures. According to her, the country remains committed to a multilateral solution.

At least 10 jurisdictions have been targeted in the past year by US investigations into tax practices imposed on US technology companies. Brazil appeared on the list, but investigations around the country were closed without any recommendation for punishment.

See also  Taesa (TAEE4, TAEE11) announces an interim dividend payment. See details:

You May Also Like

About the Author: Camelia Kirk

"Friendly zombie guru. Avid pop culture scholar. Freelance travel geek. Wannabe troublemaker. Coffee specialist."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *