Gabriel Medina beats Felipe Toledo, three-time world surfing champion

Facebook Extra

Three years after becoming the first Brazilian two-time world champion in professional surfing, Gabriel Medina can now be proud of being the only three-time champion in the country’s history. The feat was achieved on Tuesday, in Trestles, United States, where he beat teammate Felipe Toledo in the playoffs 2-0 (16.30 to 15.33 and 17.53 to 16.36) and took the title – repeating the exploits of 2014 and 2018.

Read also: Check out all the surfing champions in the world

City was just two rounds away from being a three-time world champion. Leader of the ring, the Brazilian secured a place in the big decision for the WSL League Finals, the final stage of the season. After seven stages throughout 2020-21, the tournament collected the top five in the world rankings. At the time, he had to wait for the other qualifiers until he met – and won – his opponent Felipe Toledo at the decision.

The stage was even interrupted by a shark. According to the organization, the length of the animal was about 1.80 meters. During the break, the entire competition area was searched to ensure that the animal was no longer present.

The triple championship allows Gabriel Medina to sit at the same table with three other sporting legends: Australian Mick Fanning, champion in 2007, 2009 and 2013, Hawaiian Andy Irons, winner in 2002, 2003 and 2004, and North American Tom Curren, who took the title in 1985 /86, 1986/87 and 1990.

Medina is one title away from Australian Mark Richards, the second-highest winner on the World Surfing Tour, who won the championship four times in 1979, 1980, 1981 and 1982. The biggest winner in history is North American Kelly Slater, who won 11 achievements.

See also  Brazil and the United Kingdom sign cooperation in digital innovation

The city also won the world title in 2018 even before it won the title of Billabong Pipe Master, Hawaii’s stage at the world circuit. Also in the semi-finals, the Brazilian defeated South African Jordi Smith with 16.27 points to 15.83 points. In doing so, he eliminated the chances of Australian Julian Wilson, second in the standings, to overtake him in advance.

Born on Marisias Beach, on the coast of Sao Paulo, the city won its first world title on December 19, 2014, also in Hawaii.

Check out all the world champions:

2021: Gabriel Medina (Brazil).

2019: Italo Ferreira (Brazil).
2018: Gabriel Medina (Brazil).
2017: John John Florence (Hawaii)
2016: John John Florence (Hawaii)
2015: Adriano de Sousa (Brazil).
2014: Gabriel Medina (Brazil)
2013: Mick Fanning (Australia)
2012: Joel Parkinson (Australia).
2011: Kelly Slater (US)
2010: Kelly Slater (US)
2009: Mick Fanning (Australia)
2008: Kelly Slater (US)
2007: Mick Fanning (Australia)
2006: Kelly Slater (US)
2005: Kelly Slater (US)
2004: Andy Irons (Hawaii).
2003: Andy Irons (Hawaii)
2002: Andy Irons (Hawaii)
2001: C.J. Hopegood (USA)
2000: Sunny Garcia (Hawaii)
1999: Mark Ochilobo (Australia).
1998: Kelly Slater (US).
1997: Kelly Slater (US).
1996: Kelly Slater (USA).
1995: Kelly Slater (US).
1994: Kelly Slater (US)
1993: Derek Ho (Hawaii)
1992: Kelly Slater (USA).
1991: Damien Hardman (Australia).
1990: Tom Curren (USA)
1989: Martin Potter (UK).
1988: Barton Lynch (Australia).
1987: Damien Hardman (Australia)
1986: Tom Curren (USA)
1985: Tom Curren (USA)
1984: Tom Carroll (Australia).
1983: Tom Carroll (Australia).
1982: Mark Richards (Australia).
1981: Mark Richards (Australia).
1980: Mark Richards (Australia).
1979: Mark Richards (Australia).
1978: Wayne Bartholomew (Australia).
1977: Sean Thompson (Africa do Sul).
1976: Peter Townend (Australia).

You May Also Like

About the Author: Lizzie Gray

"Lifelong web fan. Incurable internet junkie. Avid bacon guru. Social media geek. Reader. Freelance food scholar."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *